Author Topic: Champs Pre-Elite/Elite Day Format  (Read 1554 times)

Champs Pre-Elite/Elite Day Format
« on: March 23, 2018, 07:35:58 AM »
I am new to NADAC agility, so forgive me in advance. I qualified for Pre-Elite Champs. Does Pre-Elite only compete on Tuesday and Wednesday? OR does everyone (Elite and Pre-Elite) compete on Tuesday and Wednesday in an effort to qualify in the top percent in order to progress to the rest. Or is it only Elite that progresses to the latter days of competition. If you need to rank in the top percentage, do you then compete in all runs or only of the specific ones you placed in the top percentage of (IE: only weavers or jumpers). I am trying to understand the length of commitment and process.

Lynne Almeida

• Trial Secretary
    • Owner - Spellbinder Books
Re: Champs Pre-Elite/Elite Day Format
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2018, 08:51:46 AM »
Congratulations on qualifying!  Pre-Elite runs Thurs-Sun and has 8 rounds, just like Elite.  The Pre-Elite (and Double-Digit) dogs generally run a slightly shorter/simplified version of the Elite dogs' course.  What you might find helpful is to go to the Champs page on the NADAC web site, and scroll down to the bottom, where you will see links for the courses for all the rounds at last year's Championships.  You can look at the Pre-Elite and Elite courses and see how they differ from one another and get an idea of what to expect.  All dogs entered in the event do the first seven rounds, each of which is a 'regular' course but with a particular focus: one might have more jumps, or weaves, or tunnels, etc.  Then, the top third, score-wise, of each group will progress to the finals round - ie. Sunday's second round.