Author Topic: Want to do my first trial... Help!  (Read 4473 times)

kaseyrichards

Want to do my first trial... Help!
« on: May 16, 2014, 12:14:30 PM »
Hello all... I am new to this and unclear what I need to do to sign up my dog for an agility trial. I have been doing agility training for about two years with my black lab and would love to compete in a trial. I've read over some information on the NADAC site but still unclear. Hoping to get a few questions answered.... Sorry if stupid questions  :)

1. What is the written entry? When and where is this done?
2. Do my dog and I have to pass the entry level test before we can compete?
3. What should I expect at the trial? do I need a crate?
4. What is difference between associate member and just member?

And any and all info to this would help. Looking for a walk thru basically of what I need to do to get started. Thanks in advance for help and info, greatly appreciated!
Kasey
Bubba Henry

Janine McGee

Re: Want to do my first trial... Help!
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 05:32:55 AM »
Hello Kasey

First of all there is no such thing as a stupid question. This is all new to you so don't feel bad about not having all the information already.

1. On the NADAC website you can look for trials in your area by state. If you live close to a state line, check the other states close to you as well. Each trial should have a link that takes you to where you can find a PDF of the trial premium (info and entry form).  Your dog must have a NADAC number before entering the trial. Fill out the entry and send it in.

2. You do not have to pass an entry level test in order to enter the trial. Some clubs offer BA (Beginner Agility) trials and they are a great way to find out if you and your canine teammate are ready for a trial.
NADAC also has just added a new level called Intro. The courses are shorter and less complex than the Novice level. Not all clubs are offering it yet due to software issues.