Author Topic: Times  (Read 1107 times)

InfinityM45

Times
« on: June 10, 2017, 01:14:46 PM »
     I have never run at Champs.  I have a dog in the 20 plus height who is a double digit dog.  He has been running skilled at 12 inches.  I am a veteran handler.    So, when he runs at 12 inches what yards per second would he be expected to have to qualify in standard, touch and go and weavers?  Is the yps going to be similar to that calculated by the video run calculator?  It was mentioned in an earlier post that the reason for measuring was so that a larger dog jumping 12inches would not be competing against a dog that actually measured 12 inches. 

Chris Nelson

• Administrator
Re: Times
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 02:34:15 PM »
The times for a Q will be the same as what the calculator comes up with.

But, getting a Q at Champs is great, but it's different than your actual score.

All dogs start with a certain amount of points for each round, say 150.

Your time and faults are deducted from this number, so a 30 second run would get you 120 points.    That is how you are placed against your competitors for Championships.

Your competitors will be other Veterans who fall into your height group.   So you could be running against Veteran, Skilled dogs who would be jumping your same height.   Or you could also be competing against Veteran, Proficient dogs who are jumping 16.

But they will all be dogs who fall within your height group, so you won't be competing against a 16" tall border collie for example since your dog is over 18" at the withers.

That's a lot of info so I hope it wasn't too overwhelming!

danforth

• 2016 Online Seminar Group
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2017, 04:06:59 PM »
As a newbie to champs, I am now confused.   Cocoa's standard jump height is 12 inches.   He is 9 years old and runs as a veteran skilled dog, jumping 4 inches.    Who would be his competition at Champs?

Isabel
Isabel and Cocoa

Chris Nelson

• Administrator