Author Topic: Time plus Faults Clarification  (Read 1975 times)

RebeccaU

Time plus Faults Clarification
« on: June 22, 2017, 06:23:27 AM »
I am a Champs newbie and I am confused by the time plus faults scoring at Champs.  Can you explain it for me please?  Specifically, if my pre-elite dog runs past an obstacle, do I turn him around and retry (adding time but maintaining the path of the course) or do I continue on and take the fault points?
Also, does the time plus faults scoring negate the qualifying requirement? (clean run under SCT?)
Becki, Keaton and Jet

KarissaKS

• Agility Acres Dog Training
Re: Time plus Faults Clarification
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 08:18:43 AM »
You want to complete all obstacles at Champs because any missed obstacles net you 20 faults for failure to perform and add 20 seconds to your time for your score. In general it's going to be faster to bring your dog back to do the obstacle versus running past. Also, while NADAC allows training in the ring, Champs is not the place to do this. If your dog jumps off a contact just keep going. Don't go back and redo it because E's at Champs kill your score.

If you are running in Pre-Elite then you don't need to worry about the distance challenge, but one thing to consider for those in the Regular division is the following -- If your dog is struggling with the distance challenge and hasn't faulted yet (off course, etc.), it's often faster to cross the line and take the 5 faults versus wasting 10 seconds arguing with your dog and trying to get them to send out. Remember if you don't even attempt the distance challenge you get 10 faults. But again, if you think your dog will go off course or waste time, maybe those 10 faults are worth it to you.

Ultimately run to keep your dog happy. Don't worry about scoring, it will all wash out in the end.